top of page

Since When Was There An Age Limit on Fashion?

Why is it that as we age, our outfits typically become bland, oversized, monochrome, animal print, and beach-themed? This past year, I worked at Sunrise Senior Living, an assisted living facility. My sister also worked with me, experiencing all the heartwarming and harsh sides of senior health care. Working there consisted of managing the front desk, running activities such as leading morning exercise sessions, reading the daily news chronicle, overseeing baking classes, and organizing walks. For exercise classes, we would use pool noodles in place of free weights because of how fragile many of the residents are. It was so cute and they always brought the energy! Baking classes were my personal favorite. The residents still had quite a sweet tooth and adored helping crack the eggs to make fudge brownies. To get the residents in touch with their inner creative selves, I even taught art classes called “Meet me at MoMa.” Most of the seniors are handicapped and lack the coordination to paint, draw, or build with their hands so I would put together packets of famous paintings with information about artists from Keith Haring to Picasso to Andy Warhol and Henri Mattisse for them to look at. Each resident voiced his or her interpretation of the artwork, leading the group into deep discussion.


After talking about art with them, it got me thinking about how art is a form of fashion, a way to artistically communicate who we are and what we believe in. As a Psychology major, I can’t help but refer to Erik Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development in humans. Erikson stated that one of the last “crises” we face as we reach age 65 is called integrity vs. despair. It centers on the conflict of whether or not we have led a meaningful, satisfying life. So, why couldn’t my residents find this sense of meaning and peace in their own style and fun clothing? Since when was there an “age limit” on expressing yourself through clothes?

I got to goof around while playing word games, trivia, and bingo with the elders. I have endless stories of them participating in activities. My memories with them are so hilarious that my sister and I still relive them. Once, I was told that I was “cheating” because I had the answers to the word game when in fact I was in charge of it. Playing with the sing-along app “SingFit”, was another activity I often ran. The residents would clap and sway along or close their eyes humming to themselves. One resident would always get up, grab my hands, and dance around the room with me. She used to sing with Frank Sinatra and would even rehearse songs in Italian from time to time. My residents always showed this playful side with me but only a few of their outfits showed off just how cheerful and creative they can be. Just as music spans over generations, clothes can do this too. Certain items may be passed down to children, grandchildren, or donated. Some songs never die and some pieces of clothing never lose their meaning.


I loved working at Sunrise, not just because it was a rewarding experience but also because it made me reflect on the concept of aging and my own family. I worked with over fifty residents who ranged in age from 65 to 102 years old. I was able to boost morale and incorporate some fun into their mostly monotonous lives. After I got off my shift, one resident would invite me to her room to give me a tour of her place, a warm hug, and tell me how much it meant to her to have company. Her prized possession was a jewelry stand of colorful beaded necklaces. These necklaces, she told me, were either found at garage sales or been given to her as gifts. Each day she would match her necklace to her outfit. She showed me that fashion can act as its own time capsule of memories as we grow up.

I learned about the residents’ pasts, how each of them ended up at Sunrise and I listened to their stories about their time in college, playing sports, their holiday traditions, favorite meals, and even the great deals going on at Walmart. I gave advice and provided comfort and support when they felt alone, especially to the youngest resident who, now 65, entered into senior living facilities at the age of 21 due to a government accident that resulted in the loss of his leg and free housing. I helped a few with technology issues including iPhones and androids... MANY androids. I really feel as if I impacted their lives in a meaningful way. Shortly before the passing of one of my favorite residents, she thanked me for enriching her life. She always wore some type of scarf or shawl that would prompt me to compliment it. It was her signature style. Her granddaughter had graduated from Lafayette College and we would bond over that. Today, whenever I see a colorful shawl, it reminds me of her, illustrating that a piece of clothing can carry so many memories of a loved one and allows a part of them to live on.


My residents enjoyed joking around and probing me with questions about college and my life. But what always brought a smile to my face was their interest and delight in my attire. I would receive many compliments about my outfits like, “That blouse is such a beautiful color!” And others like, “Can I feel your sweater? It looks very soft,” and “I like your shoes.” Other comments humored me. Once, I wore an oversized Urban Outfitters t-shirt with leopards on it and received various little “rawrs” and “roars” from residents commenting on it. One even asked me if the leopard would roar back!


Many of the residents struggle with poor eyesight, battle memory loss in the form of Alzheimer’s and Dementia, and have enduring health complications such as Parkinson’s Disease and Atrial Fibrillation. Yet, they all seemed to enjoy the various textures, vibrant colors, and alternating prints and patterns of the clothes I wore, no matter how many times I re-wore shirts, pants, and shoes. Maybe these seniors were just interested in what young adults wear nowadays or maybe they were reflecting on their own past style and the ways in which the fashion industry has recycled old trends. Perhaps they are just out of touch with the current designs of clothing articles. The resident’s questions made me realize that few fashion brands make clothes designed for the elderly. Even though our bodies don’t tend to age well, allowing us to drift towards the loose-fitting, comfortable, and warm choices, couldn’t there be more options of color, texture, and style for senior clothing? One way to break this stigma could be to hire a guest speaker to talk to residents who are interested in clothing trends and current events in fashion. To me, it is heartwarming that a simple pair of fuzzy socks as a bingo prize would often cheer up many of the residents. I wonder how happy they would be if they could win fashionable and comfortable clothing or could shop around a pop-up thrift shop like LFS has done on Lafayette’s campus. Moments like these with my senior residents give me hope for the future, and for what Gen Z can create out of clothing brands to make them more inclusive for all ages.


bottom of page