top of page

Meet the LFS 2020 Blog Staff

A letter from the Editor-in-Chief:


To our supportive readers and the greater Lafayette community,


I would first like to thank LFS and the other blog staff members for coming together remotely during one of the busiest times of year to make this release a reality. As a senior at Lafayette, I am so grateful to have found a community that is equally passionate about discussing fashion and pop culture. When I accepted this position and began thinking about the precedent I wanted to set for this blog, I kept returning to one central question: With so many cultural and political debates going on in the world today, why does fashion still matter? Why should we care one bit about what we are wearing at a private liberal arts school in North America when so many global conflicts are taking place?


Fashion, as a core principle, is how we as humans choose to express ourselves. It is a direct reflection of the world we live in. Fashion is the physical manifestation of our inherent conflict to be distinct individuals or to represent our role as part of a collective society. Fashion expresses "the now" as well as some sort of historical truth about human behavior. So, we consider the brutal reality that fashion is one of the single most polluting and exploitative industries in the world. We consider the lack of diversity in the most powerful fashion houses as well as in advertisements. We consider the difference in the consumption of fashion for the wealthy versus the average person. In critically examining and discussing these dynamics of power and culture, we can understand a great deal about the world we are living in and the role we want to play in its future as we move on from Lafayette.


My goal for this blog is to encourage the Lafayette community to engage in fashion and its complexities. My vision for this blog is one that explores fashion in the context of pop culture as a whole, rather than scratching at the surface of today’s fashions, exploring how fashion fits into politics and a changing world. I also hope to celebrate the individuality and creativity of fashion, and the art and power of dressing. This blog also seeks to highlight individuals in the Lafayette community and beyond who are paving the future of the fashion industry and shaping our culture. Though the blog is still in its infancy, we cannot wait to showcase the voices of Lafayette students and alumni.


Wishing all of you a healthy holiday season,


Elly Stankovits ‘21


 

First, if we were mood boards, what would we be?


Edits by Roxane Bolon '23

 

Meet the Editor-in-Chief: Elly Stankovits ‘21

Hometown: Rumson, NJ

Major: International Affairs, Minor: Spanish

Campus Involvement: LFS and SHEESH media and design co-director

My Style is: Eclectic and constantly evolving, probably straddling an imaginary line between classically chic and eccentric. My high school english professor once described me as looking “either lavishly adorned or like she just rolled out of bed” with no middle ground, and this is unfortunately still quite accurate. My one signature though is I always have long wavy hair and some sort of smudged cat-eye.

Where I shop: I am decidedly a collector so I love to discover and try out new labels I find on social media, but my favorite items are mostly from Paloma Wool, Lisa says Gah, Ganni, House of Sunny, Whistles London, Simon Miller, Zara, The Kooples, Artizia, LuluLemon, Moussy Global, and Frame.

Right now I’m listening to: Miley Cyrus’ new album, MARINA, 70’s pop, Taylor Swift, and Mitski.

Recently I watched and loved: The Queen’s Gambit (her wardrobe is 10/10), literally anything true crime, Rick and Morty, and Free Britney Tiktoks

I’m passionate about: Slow fashion, body neutrality vs. body positivity, diversity in high fashion, feminism, greenwashing and consumerism, the future of retail, drag and fashion, and the intersection of politics and fashion marketing.


 

Meet the Managing Editor: Gretchen Christophe '22

(Editor-in-Chief starting May 2021)

Hometown: Maplewood, NJ

Academics: I’m an English (Literature Concentration) and Government & Law major (but I’m actually trying to design my own major relating to communications and marketing)

Campus involvement: LFS, Her Campus, Lafayette Consulting Group, Student Government, Women in Law, Alpha Phi

My style is: minimalistic and generally neutral with pops of color! I love statement jackets or shoes paired with neutral tones and minimal designs. I definitely prioritize comfort over trends. I also love a natural smokey eye look with minimal and bronzed makeup.

Where I shop: I’m very much into supporting boutiques and some of my favorites include: Rocks n Rags, Grey Bandit, Brunch Club, Not Your Sister’s Closet Boutique, but otherwise I’m very into ASOS, American Eagle, and Express!

My favorite artists: Vampire Weekend, Sebastian Paul, Louis the Child, COIN, The Lumineers, Labrinth

What I’m loving recently: Folklore Long Pond Studio album (absolutely obsessed), statement beanies, white sneakers with pops of color, lounge sets

I’m passionate about: intersectionality, BLM, gender-fluid fashion, criminal justice system reform, climate change, creative writing, graphic design, marketing, and public relations!


 

Meet the Assistant Editor: Rebecca Kane '23



Hometown: Upper Saddle River, NJ

Academics: English major with a writing concentration

My involvement: LFS, Her Campus, The Happiness Project, English Club, Alpha Gamma Delta

Music: Kehlani, Post Malone, Jhené Aiko, Bryson Tiller

What I'm passionate avout: Fighting global poverty, ending world hunger and homelessness

Where I shop: Mainly, I shop at Aeropostale, American Eagle, and Loft. I keep it classy and simple, and try to look effortlessly stylish. For me, nothing completes an outfit like jewelry, hair and makeup.


 

Meet the Creative Director: Roxane Bolon ‘23


Hometown: Chapel Hill, NC

Major: International Affairs and Economics

Campus Involvement: Lafayette Track and Field, Lafayette Outdoors Society, Lafayette sports marketing team, Athlete Ally, rock climbing team, Lafayette Spanish club

Music and TV: Music - LCD Soundsystem, Dr. Dog, Vince Staples, Sports, Toro y Moi, Glass Animals; TV - Big Mouth, 30 Rock, Broad City

My Style and Where I Shop: I like to think of my style as versatile. Depending on how I’m feeling on any given day, I might feel like wearing a monochromatic pink skirt and tee or I might feel like wearing cargo pants, a collared shirt, and a Cuban chain. I love looking like I stepped out of 1993. I love jewelry more than anything. Cropped baby tees, 1000 necklaces, shimmery eyeshadow and an updo are my go-to’s. I mostly shop at my local thrift stores, but I also shop at and draw inspiration from brands like UNIF, Omighty, Lazy Oaf, Elsie&Fred and Dalmata

Cultural/Societal Passions: Feminism and intersectionality, BLM and LGBTQ+ awareness and involvement, moderated consumption and local business uplifting, sustainable fashion

bottom of page